Cherry Blossom Festival in D.C

 

Me and my friend took a trip together to Washington D.C last year and coincidentally it was the National Cherry Blossom Festival! Jackpot!! We were so thrilled that we get to see the Cherry Blossoms!  Walking along the paths underneath the Cherry Blossoms was truly magnificent. They only bloom for about a week or so, so being able to witness it during its peak was truly special. The Annual Fireworks was held also on that day we visited the Cherry Blossoms, so we camped out along with hundreds (or thousands) of people along the Basin. Chattering with each other while eating and drinking. Me and my friend were unprepared for it, so we just sat at grass. Whatever. It was fun all around.

Gorgeous isn’t?

Of course me and my friend are complete tourists.. so I’ll share some of the places we visited. Of course it was all the “basics” in touring DC.

Yeah yeah.. it’s because I watched that movie National Treasure a LOT of times with my family.

I honestly forgot who was this.. but this is located near The White House and directly in front of a federal building. Was it the Finance or something? *shrug*

Do I even have to say WHAT this is?

Lincoln Memorial

Reflecting Pool and Washington Monument

Inside the U.S. Capitol

The Library of Congress

Outside the U.S. Capitol

We attended the Easter Sunday Mass here.

Smithsonian Castle

HOPE Diamond! Me and my friend beelined for this baby when we visited the Museum of Natural History.

And more Cherry Blossom pictures!! 

Until next Spring… maybe in Korea? 😉

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. momosan
    Apr 05, 2011 @ 22:44:01

    That is a statue of William Tecumseh Sherman – so it was Sherman Square near the Treasury Department sort of on the Ellipse.

    Reply

  2. xiaosxin
    Apr 06, 2011 @ 08:48:59

    Ahhhhhh…. Thanks you! I swear after seeing the 4th statue I just forgot everthing! 😉

    Reply

  3. momosan
    Apr 11, 2011 @ 13:24:59

    I think there is actually a website somewhere for the DC equestrian statues. There is one in virtually every circle and square around here.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

